County Commissioners
941-861-5000
District
mail to
Email addr
All
Commissioners
commissioners@scgov.net
1
Mike Moran
mmoran@scgov.net
2
Christian Ziegler
cziegler@scgov.net
3
Nancy Detert
ncdetert@scgov.net
4
Alan Maio
amaio@scgov.net
5
Charles Hines
chines@scgov.net
Click Here to view the pdf version.
Click map to enlarge it
     Suggestions for writing to your County Commissioners:

You will be asking them to support an amendment proposed by Old Miakka
Community Club to change a Resource Management Area designation on
the Comprehensive Plan Future land Use Map.  That Plan lists accepted
reasons for amendments so you should refer to at least one of these
reasons in your letter.

The Resource Management Areas are designed to:

  • Preserve and strengthen existing communities
  • Provide for a variety of land uses and lifestyles to support residents
    of diverse ages, incomes, and family sizes, including housing that is
    affordable to residents at or below the median income for Sarasota
    County
  • Preserve environmental systems
  • Direct population growth away from floodplains
  • Avoid Urban Sprawl
  • Reduce automobile trips
  • Create efficiency in planning and provision of infrastructure
  • Conserve water and energy
  • Preserve rural character, including opportunities for agriculture
  • Balance jobs with housing

You can see some sample letters by selecting the links below (
coming
soon
). You are welcome to copy parts of the letters if you desire.

Sample letters to County Commissioners:

Preserve Communities
Preserve Environment
Avoid Urban Sprawl
Support Agriculture
Reduce Traffic